Home » About us

About us

The Beaufort Delta Divisional Education Council is the most Northerly school board in the Northwest Territories with all eight communities and nine schools located north of the Arctic Circle. BDDEC serves 1583 students in the region, is responsible for about 302 administrators, teachers and support staff, and oversees a budget of approximately $39.6 million.

The eleven members of Beaufort Delta Divisional Education Council include the Chairperson, representatives of eight communities and two Indigenous claimant groups of the Beaufort-Delta region in Canada’s Western Arctic (Inuvialuit and Gwich’in). The education body focuses on Indigenous Languages, culture-based education, literacy, numeracy and social responsibility annually in its strategic plan.

The administrative office is based in Inuvik which is the government center and transportation hub for the Western Arctic and home to a community of approximately 3400 people.

BDEC Policies