Welcome to the Beaufort Delta Education Council

BDDEC Message from the Superintendent of Schools

I hope everyone is safe, practicing physical distancing and enjoying the warming weather here in the Beaufort Delta region. We wanted to take a moment to update you. Planning for re-entry into schools in the fall is ongoing, with ECE and BDDEC actively working together on a coordinated, system-wide approach
for the upcoming school year. This planning follows the detailed criteria provided by the Office of the Chief Public Health Officer (OCPHO) on how to safely reopen schools.

How education is delivered will be different for each school and community, based on factors such as school size and layout, access to technology, and the number and ages of students and staff. It is likely that individual schools will be adjusting student transportation, food programs and even scheduling, depending on their ability to accommodate the public health recommendations.

Education leaders have agreed on the following priorities for the 2020-2021 school year:

● Maintaining the health and safety of students, staff and communities
● Starting the school year on time
● Maximizing in-person learning, to the extent possible
● Seeking equity across regions
● Maintaining financial supports to schools

We have submitted individual and district plans to the OCPHO. Education bodies will be taking a flexible approach in their planning to account for a potential second wave of COVID-19 in the fall of 2020, which could require a return to increased public health restrictions. We will working closely with our DEC and local DEA’s to ensure communication about individual school plans are clear. We will update you more as individual schools plans have been approved by the OCPHO.

If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at the district office 867-777-2332 ext:506 or email at frankg@bdec.nt.ca


Frank Galway
Superintendent of Schools
Beaufort Delta Divisional Education Council
Bag Service 12
Inuvik, NT X0E 0T0
Ph: 867 777 2332 ext 506
Email: frankg@bdec.nt.ca

Attached Minister’s letter:

English: (click to enlarge or follow link for PDF version)

French:(click to enlarge or follow link for PDF version)

NWT Education Bulletin

June 05/2020 Letter To Parents (PDF)

May 15/ 2020 Letter to Parents (PDF)

Link to the updated Education Bulletin (PDF)

March 23/ 2020 Superintendent Letter (PDF)

The Beaufort Delta Divisional Education Council is the most Northerly school board in the Northwest Territories with all eight communities and nine schools located north of the Arctic Circle. BDDEC serves 1583 students in the region, is responsible for about 302 administrators, teachers and support staff, and oversees a budget of approximately $39.6 million.

The eleven members of Beaufort Delta Divisional Education Council include the Chairperson, representatives of eight communities and two Indigenous claimant groups of the Beaufort-Delta region in Canada’s Western Arctic (Inuvialuit and Gwich’in). The education body focuses on Indigenous Languages, culture-based education, literacy, numeracy and social responsibility annually in its strategic plan.

Shown below are the Communities, Schools and Educational Districts of the NWT.

Detail of the Beaufort Delta Education Council area

The Beaufort Delta Education Council will strengthen partnerships to build thriving school communities which embrace and deliver culture-based education by providing tools and resources for student success.


Empowered by culture-based education, students are inspired to succeed.

 Graduation dates for 2020 are as follows:

• Angik School, Paulatuk, NT – May 26, 2020
• Helen Kalvak School, Ulukhaktok, NT – June 03, 2020
• East Three Secondary School, Inuvik, NT – May 30, 2020
• Mangilaluk School, Tuktoyaktuk, NT – June 19, 2020
• Chief Julius School, Fort McPherson, NT – June 19, 2020
• Moose Kerr School, Aklavik, NT – June 12, 2020


Northwest Territories Teachers Association

NWT Education Culture and Employment

Town of Inuvik

BDEC District Education Authority Members

2019-2020  School Calendar


Phone: (867) 777-2332 (Monday to Friday 8:30 a.m to 5 p.m)
Fax: (867) 777-2469